Make Me Uncomfortable

Has God ever asked you to do something you were not really comfortable doing? Did you follow through on the task given to you, or was the fear too great? Personally, there have been times that I have chickened out. Am I proud to admit that? Certainly not, but it happens. But, when I do follow through on what God has asked of me, the outcome has always been a blessing to me and everyone else.

For example, one fear I have always had was being on stage. As an introvert, I absolutely hate being the center of attention. So, what does God ask me to do? You guessed it; be on stage. I have been playing drums and percussion since I was a child, and I felt God wanted me to use the musical talents given to me to minister to other people. Over the years, I have played on many stages and I have played for hundreds of people. You would think that I would get used to playing in front of crowds after a while, but the stage fright has always been there. I would pray for God to take the fear away, but it always stayed. I would get frustrated sometimes and question God. “Why have you asked me to do this when You know it bothers me so much?”

It took me years to come to the conclusion that God did not intend on ever taking the fear away. The thought occurred to me when I read the story of Paul in II Corinthians 12.

 1 I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. 2 I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. 3 And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows— 4 was caught up to paradise and heard inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell. 5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. 6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

The fear may stay with me, but I can rest in knowing that the power of Christ is within me. Now, I pray that God makes me uncomfortable, so that I will always have to rely on Christ to accomplish the tasks ahead of me; because, if my calling ever becomes about me, then it is no longer worth even two small grains of sand. It is a great reminder that it is not me, but it is Christ within me that gives me strength to accomplish what I believe to be unthinkable and out of the question. I will delight in my weaknesses, for when I am weak, then I am strong by the power of God’s grace.

This inspirational word was brought to you by Daniel Stevens of Grace & Main Fellowship.

Leave a Reply

